Honors and Awards

Congratulations to our Past Award Winners!

Award Nominations Now Open:
Do you know of a fantastic instructor, colleague or association member who deserves recognition? Nominate them today!

The Oklahoma Speech Language Hearing Association Honors and Awards Committee is seeking nominations for awards to be given at the 2018 Annual OSHA Conference. Specific nominating criteria are detailed for each award below, along with a detailed description of each award. Members may be nominated again for previously received awards.

Submissions may be mailed to the Honors and Awards Committee Chair:

Allie Bartlett
8801 S. Olie Ave
Oklahoma City, OK 73139

Submissions may also be submitted via email at abartslp@gmail.com

The Gwen Cacy Award

The Gwen Cacy Award is bestowed upon a member whose primary occupation is that of a clinician rather than an instructor, supervisor, scientist, or administrator. The award is a memorial to Gwen Cacy, an outstanding person and a superior clinician, and is given to clinicians who exemplify distinguished clinical service just as Cacy did. The award is presented for:

1) consistently resourceful and creative contributions in diagnosis or treatment of individuals with communication disorders;

2) serving others with warmth, sincerity, and a sense of humor;

3) personal interest in individuals with communication disorders, their families, and the professionals who work with them in the field of communication disorders and related disciplines; and

4) contributions to the growth and development of clinical and professional activities.

The Honors of the Association Award

The Honors of the Association Award is bestowed upon a member for

1)  outstanding service to the Association,

 2) demonstrated noteworthy professional services and

3)  exceptional accomplishment in the field of communication disorders.

Eligibility for the award is based on four criteria. The nominee must:

a) have been a member in good standing of the Oklahoma Speech-Language-Hearing Association for at least five consecutive years;

b) be consistently resourceful and creative in contributions to the Association and/or to the field of communication disorders;

c) have shown a devotion to the Association as demonstrated by the willingness and ability to work cooperatively with fellow members of the profession; and

d) have served in leadership roles to promote effective services for individuals with communication disorders.

This award recognizes persons who have demonstrated noteworthy professional service and exceptionalaccomplishment in the field of Communication Disorders.

The Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award is bestowed upon a person who is not a member of the Oklahoma Speech-Language-Hearing Association but who has made a distinguished contribution to the field of communication disorders. The nominee must have served a leadership role to promote effective services for individuals with communication disorders.


OSHA is now accepting applications for the OSHA Student Scholarship! The Scholarship Award is bestowed upon a professional or graduate student in speech-language pathology or audiology in the state of Oklahoma. Multiple scholarships may be awarded pending available funding. 

To qualify, you must be a full-time doctoral or masters student in one of the ASHA CAA accredited graduate programs in Oklahoma, majoring in speech-language pathology or audiology. If you are an in-coming first year graduate student, you must submit a copy of your letter of acceptance (or a letter from your department chair indicating your acceptance) into one of the graduate programs in the state.

Mail completed applications to:
Allie Bartlett, Honors and Awards Committee Chair
8801 S. Olie Ave.
Oklahoma City, OK 73139

For questions, call (405) 601-7192 or email Allie Bartlett, Honors and Awards Committee Chair.

**Applications must be received by June 30, 2018**